Arkansas (AR) Teen Auto Insurance Laws, Rates & Requirements

More than 635 Arkansas teens ages 14-19 died in car crashes between 2000 and 2006. Today, the state of Arkansas is cracking down on teen driving harder than ever. The state began enforcing new restrictions on teen drivers July 31, 2009. As a result, the state of Arkansas expects to see a significant decrease in fatal crashes. What this means for teens is zero tolerance across the board. Drinking and driving, reckless driving, and violating restricted license provisions will not be tolerated. In addition to Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL), the state has a number of new laws in place for teens, so continue reading to learn more about Arkansas’s teen driving laws and the consequences for violating them.

Arkansas Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) and Driver License Requirements

Arkansas was the 48th state to adopt the Graduated Drivers License system. Arkansas’s Graduated Driver Licensing applies to teen’s ages 14-17. There are three types of Graduated Licenses in the state of Arkansas including:

•    Instruction Permit – restricted license for beginner drivers, designed to teach the rules of the road, can only drive with parents
•    Learners License – restricted license for drivers ages 14-16, requires testing (road skills, written, and vision) and parental supervision
•    Intermediate – restricted license, must be 16-18 years of age, parental supervision is required for the first six months, final step before obtaining Class D unrestricted license

To obtain an initial application, you must be at least 14 years of age and if you are under the age of 18, you will need parental consent. In addition, the Arkansas Office of Driver Services (ODS) requires any of the following documents to prove legal status in the U.S.:

•    U.S. Birth Certificate (copies will not be accepted)
•    U.S. Visa
•    U.S. Passport
•    Social Security Card
•    Military ID
•    INS Documents
•    Naturalization Certificate

All applicants must also show proof of identification by providing two primary documents or one primary and one secondary document:

Primary Documents

•    An Arkansas Photo ID issued by the Arkansas Department of Finance
•    and Administration, Office of Revenue
•    Out of State Driver License or State Issued Photo ID
•    Birth Certificate (If foreign, must have notarized translation)
•    Photo INS Document (except Border Crosser)
•    Passport (If foreign, INS Card or U.S. Visa required)
•    Naturalization Certificate
•    Family Law
•    Court Order (Must contain full name, date of birth & court seal)
•    Military/Military Dependent Photo ID
•    Draft Registration Card
•    Armed Forces Discharge Papers

Secondary Documents

•    Photo Medicaid Card
•    Employment or School Photo ID
•    Social Security Card (No metal cards)
•    Vehicle Registration/Title
•    Bureau of Indian Affairs/Indian Treaty Card (No Tribal Cards)
•    Marriage License
•    Health Insurance Card
•    IRS/State Tax Forms (W-2 Form is not acceptable)
•    Court Order (Date of birth not present)
•    Medical Records (From doctor or hospital)
•    Concealed Handgun License
•    Certified School Transcript
•    Pilot’s License
•    Parent’s Affidavit (Parent must appear in person, prove his/her identity and submit notarized affidavit of child’s identity. Applies to minors only)
•    Court Records
•    Prison Release Documents

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>