Arkansas Teen Driving Laws and Enforcement

In the state of Arkansas, learner’s licenses expire on the teens 16th birthday. During the learning period, the driver must be accompanied by a parent/guardian or licensed driver 21 years of age or older at all times. All passengers must wear their seatbelts at all times.

The intermediate license expires on the teens 18th birthday. During the first 6 months, the teen must be accompanied by a parent/guardian or licensed driver 21 or over. The adult must be ride in the front passengers seat. All occupants must wear a seatbelt at all times. In addition, a teen driver with an intermediate license:

•    Cannot operate a motor vehicle on public streets or highways between the hours 11 p.m. and 4 a.m., unless the driver is accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older; driving to or from a school activity, church related activity, or job; or driving because of an emergency

•    Is not allowed to have more than one additional minor passenger unless accompanied by a parent/legal guardian or a person 21 years of age or older. Minor passenger means anyone other than a sibling, step-sibling, or other minor that resides in the household.

If you violate any of the DC estate planning laws listed above, your restricted license will be extended. In some cases, you will not be able to apply for an unrestricted license until your 18th birthday or beyond and in others, you could lose your driving privileges altogether.

Arkansas Cell Phone Use/Texting While Driving Laws

In the state of Arkansas, it is against the law for anyone under the age of 21 to hold a cell phone and talk while driving. For drivers under the age of 18, hands-free talking is restricted as well. For driver’s ages 18-21, talking on the cell phone is allowed if using a hands-free device. There are no restrictions on driver’s over the age of 21. Texting while driving is banned for all drivers – regardless of age. Violation of Arkansas cell phone and texting laws could result in fines. Multiple offenses could lead to additional fines and license suspension.

Arkansas Teen DUI Laws

In the state of Arkansas, it is a crime for a teen to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of 0.00% or higher. This means that the state of Arkansas has a true zero tolerance law pertaining to teen drinking and driving. Most state laws regarding teen drinking and driving set the BAC limit at 0.02%. If you think you can pass a chemical or Breathalyzer test with a 0.00% if you have only consumed one beer, think again. A BAC of 0.02%  is equal to as little as one beer, one glass of wine or one mixed drink for most people. It can be even less for some.

Proof of a BAC over 0.00% is all that is needed to convict an Arkansas teen of DUI. If you are under the age of 21 and you get caught and convicted of DUI, the penalties are severe. The penalties are even more severe if your BAC is between 0.04% and 0.08%. If your BAC is between 0.04%-0.08% you could be prosecuted under the laws that apply to driver’s 21 and over. The Arkansas underage drinking law states that:

•    First-time offenders will lose their license for 90 days
•    First-time offenders will have to perform community service – the judge will set the punishment
•    First-time offenders will be fined a minimum of $100 up to $500
•    Must complete an alcoholism treatment program, an alcohol and driving education program for underage drivers, or both

Second-time offenders:

•    Will lose their licenses for 1 year
•    Will have to perform community service for 30 days
•    Will have to pay a fine ranging from $100-$500
•    Must complete an alcoholism treatment program, an alcohol and driving education program for underage drivers, or both

Multiple offenders, third offense or higher will be fined anywhere from $500-$2,000, and he will have to perform community service for a minimum of 60 days. He will also lose his driving privileges until the age of 21 or three years — whichever is longer. Multiple offenders will also have to complete an alcoholism treatment program, an alcohol and driving education program for underage drivers, or both. Contact Austin auto accident lawyers for help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>