the state of California:
-In order to own and operate a vehicle in the state of California, drivers must follow minimum financial responsibility laws by carrying the statutory minimum limits of liability insurance as follows: $15,000 for death or injury of any one person, any one accident; $30,000 for all persons in any one accident; and $5,000 for any one accident.
If you are involved in a personal injury incident, it may be extremely beneficial to talk to Detroit personal injury lawyers to discuss your claim.
-In the state of California, there are four ways to accomplish financial responsibility. These include: Coverage by a motor vehicle or automobile liability insurance policy; a cash deposit of $35,000 with the DMV; a certificate of self-insurance issued by DMV to owners of fleets of more than 25 vehicles; or a surety bond for $35,000 obtained from an insurance company licensed to do business in California.
What is the Minimum Liability Coverage (Bodily Injury amounts per person, per accident, and property damage amounts):
If you buy automobile insurance in the state of California, your policy must include minimum liability coverage of:
$15,000 for death or injury of any one person, any one accident
$30,000 for all persons in any one accident
$5,000 for damage to property in any one accident
What are the Rental Car Insurance Requirements?
In the state of California, all vehicles must be insured, whether you own it or rent it. Most auto insurance policies and credit cards include coverage for rental cars. If your credit card or auto insurance policy does not include coverage for rental cars, you must purchase insurance from the car rental company among other things your employer wants you to do. A copy of the rental agreement outlining the insurance coverage must be carried in the vehicle at all times.
What are the rules pertaining to Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Coverage is not required under California law, however, California highly recommends purchasing uninsured/underinsured (UM/UIM) coverage. This means that most California auto insurance agents will recommend that you purchase at least $50,000 of UM/UIM, or as much UM/UIM as you can afford.
What are the rules pertaining to the exclusion from coverage of a driver living in household?
In the state of California, it is a common practice for insurance companies to exclude a driver from your policy for a variety of legitimate reasons under the law. This is permitted under California law. Such exclusions must be stated in the policy or by endorsement. The driver’s coverage is not valid while a specifically excluded driver is allowed to drive the vehicle, so it is important to be aware of all policy driver restrictions.
What are the rules regarding whether a driver has prior insurance? That is, how does state law handle it if a driver has no prior insurance or has let their previous insurance lapse?
In the state of California, penalties are severe for allowing your insurance to lapse. As of October 1, 2006, the California Department of Motor Vehicles began suspending car’s registration when insurance lapses or cancels. California legislatures passed this bill in hopes of keeping motorists from buying insurance for a few months and then canceling.
It is important to keep in mind that failure to show proof of insurance when requested may result in fines or a suspended license and even impounding the vehicle if you are caught driving it without insurance.
What are the rules and guidelines auto insurance companies must follow regarding the use of Personal Credit History in selecting applicants and setting rates?
In the state of California, auto insurance companies can consider Personal Credit History when determining the types of products they will offer and rates. Under California law, auto insurance companies are allowed to consider credit standing, policy coverage, premiums, and payment history as well.
Is the state a No Fault or Tort state? What does either mean to the policy owner?
California uses a tort system for auto insurance. A tort system requires the state to name a person as responsible for causing an accident. The at-fault person is then required to pay for all charges incurred in an accident, from medical bills to car repairs.